I hung my boots up and retired from the disco floor.

Tonight, for the first the first time in my life, I felt genuinely old.

I went to meet a friend after work for a few drinks, before she went out for the night. A couple of her friends were also there and later on, another guy came and joined the group. Discussing age and ID, it turns out he is the baby of the group at 19. Upon discovering I am 24, he said “Oh wow, you don’t look that old”.

Le sigh.

Most of my friends are younger than me, whether it’s by a couple of months or by a couple of years. It’s not like I’m not used to being older. In fact, it’s been mentioned more than once that I have an old head on (relatively) young shoulders. But that was the first time I was genuinely aware that I’m not 18 anymore, something I’ve been maintaining is true for 6 years.

Bugger.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

